The New England Patriots were required (Aug. 30) yesterday to cut their roster down to 53 players. The most recognizable names let go were last year's 2nd round draft choice, wide receiver Josh Boyce and long time long snapper Danny Aiken. Linebacker James Morris was placed on injured reserve and wide receiver Brian Tyms and cornerback Brandon Browner, both under 4 game suspensions for violating the league's drug police, will not count toward to the team's roster.

The 10 player practice squad will start to be filled (Aug. 31) Sunday, once players begin to clear waivers, so some of these players, listed below, may return to the team.

These are the players cut:

  • WR Josh Boyce
  • LS Danny Aiken
  • OG Jon Halapio
  • DB Shamiel Gary
  • DB Daxton Swanson
  • DL Jake Bequette
  • LB Steve Beauharnais
  • TE Steve Maneri
  • LB/FB Taylor McCuller
  • DL Jerel Worthy
  • RB Jonas Gray
  • WR Jeremy Gallon
  • RB Roy Finch
  • DB Kanorris Davis
  • LB Ja’Gared Davis
  • DL L.T. Tuipulotu
  • OL Braxton Cave
  • DL Eathyn Manumaleuna
  • OL Chris Martin